This is the scrumptious Capybara.

Last week, the annual Chicken and Rib Cook-off rolled in and out of town here in Ottawa. It’s one of the highlights of my year, and I always look forward to the second-last week of June with anticipation. The chicken, the ribs, and my personal favourite – the pulled pork are always superb, and I can’t say enough about them. Iím a huge carnivore, and eat very little in the way of vegetables (potatoes, raw carrots, tomato juice, and Caesar salad), so this is a always a great opportunity for me to get out, take a walk down to Sparks Street, and do what I do best – consume meat.
Thursday, while I was standing there in line to get my pulled pork sandwich from Camp 51, I got to thinking about all the different animals that Iíve eaten over my lifetime. I knew that the number had been up to 30 a few years ago, and knew that I have consumed quite a few new species since then, so I was sure that the number had to be up over 40 by now, but I wanted to get a more solid idea, at very least so satisfy my own curiosity.

So when I got back to the office, I started typing them out in Google docs so that I could get a better idea of the numbers. After putting keyboard to hard drive, the count is pretty high up there. Although I find it really is hard to say exactly, because I feel that fish should be grouped together, and that I canít honestly treat cod and haddock like different things, I still came up with at least 38 animals. I think that pretty much covers my flesh-consuming experience and that I’m not leaving anything out (although I only remembered to include duck just now, so there may be others).

For those of you who are curious, hereís what the list looks like (divided into categories):

Large quadrupeds
Cow, Horse, Moose, Deer, Caribou, Elk, Goat, Lamb, Bison

Foul / Poultry
Chicken, Turkey, Emu, Ostrich, Goose, Pheasant, Cornish hen, Grouse, Duck

Mammals
Pig, Capybara, Seal, Bear, Rabbit

Reptiles
Alligator, Iguana, Snake, Frog

Sea Creatures
Shark, Octopus, Squid, Lobster, Crab, Snails, Crawfish, Sea fish (Salmon, Tuna, Sea bass, etc.), Lake Fish (Catfish, Pickerel, trout, bass, etc.), Generic Fish (Haddock, Pollock, Cod, etc.), Shellfish (Mussels, clams, etc.)

That’s it! And with that, Iím asking a question, and throwing out a challenge…

The question is: Does anyone know of any place in the Ottawa area where I can get meats that were not on my list? Iím always looking for tasty new animals to eat, but am not totally sure where to get them. So please, pass on your knowledge, and experience with the places where I can find new carnivorous treats.

My challenge is: If you think youíve got me beat, let me know. I want to see what you got. Show your carnivore pride, and send in your list. I want to see bigger or more diverse lists than mine. The more exotic the creatures, the better.

ANyhow, that’s it for me for now, but let’s get this going. I’m looking forward to your comments.

cheers,

Mike G.